New Position at St. Edward’s University

June 12, 2013 § 4 Comments

St. Edward’s University on the south side of Austin, TX.

I’m delighted to announce that on July 1 I’ll be joining St. Edward’s University as Director for Instructional and Emerging Technology. Part of my responsibility will be helping implement the university’s 2015 Strategic Plan which calls for the creation of a “21st century learning environment . . . in which faculty and students access, assess and create knowledge in a world-wide exchange of ideas.”  I will work with faculty and staff to create a vision for that learning environment and put it into practice across the campus.  This work is a natural extension of the work I’ve done at NITLE to help faculty transform and adapt new digital methods in teaching and research to advance the essential learning outcomes of liberal education.

So why move from NITLE to single institution and why St. Edward’s? For over eleven years I’ve worked at an organization that serves multiple liberal arts colleges–at the Associated Colleges of the South (ACS) from 2002-2005 (which was loosely joined with two other consortia as the first incarnation of NITLE) and then at NITLE as a national organization since 2006.  During that time I’ve seen substantial organizational transformation and had the pleasure of working with small liberal arts colleges all over the country. In that context I’ve created my own personal learning network and formed lasting ties. After much consideration, however, I’ve decided that I would like the opportunity to engage more closely with faculty and staff at just one institution.  Such a change would allow me to follow-through on projects I started on a campus and explore digital pedagogy in a more iterative fashion. Where NITLE has given me a breadth of experience at liberal arts colleges, St. Edward’s, which hosted THATcamp Liberal Arts Colleges in June 2012, will allow me to develop depth at one institution. 

Prior to joining the ACS, I was a visiting Assistant Professor of Classics at three liberal arts colleges (Rhodes College, Denison University, and Sewanee: The University of the South). My time at ACS and NITLE only deepened my commitment to liberal education, so I am happy to be joining an institution committed to “encouraging students to think critically, act ethically, embrace diversity, strive for social justice and recognize their responsibility to the world community.”  The St. Edward’s Strategic Plan 2015 guides the university

in developing more educational partnerships and portal campuses worldwide; growing the number of students who study abroad; utilizing the power of technology to enhance global learning; and cultivating a stronger international community on our Austin campus.(http://www.stedwards.edu/about)

A key part of this global learning mission is the development of learning networks, which will build on my experience in developing networks to transform learning at liberal arts colleges, in digital humanities, and across all of higher education. In particular, I helped coordinate the Sunoikisis virtual department of classics, including supporting intercampus courses in archaeology, GIS, and advanced Greek and Latin, as well as a three-year, longitudinal study of Sunoikisis. I also helped launch the Texas Language Consortium through which five independent colleges in Texas are collaborating to increase offerings of world languages for their students. I look forward to exploring ways technology can enhance St. Edward’s global mission especially by networking their students with others around the world.

While I begin a new adventure at St. Edward’s, I am also happy that I will be able to continue working with the NITLE network both as a staff person at a NITLE member institution and as a new NITLE fellow (also beginning July 1).

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to New Position at St. Edward’s University

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Position at St. Edward’s University at Rebecca Frost Davis.

meta

